Traktor Trials.

Traktor, and Virtualdj both installed on same laptop.

All was running great on my laptop with Virtualdj 8 until I installed Traktor 2.73.
I’m running a Intel dual core 2.4ghz, 4gb ram, Windows 7 64bit machine, and I do karaoke disco.
When I maximise the VDJ 8 window the karaoke graphics lag to the point of being unusable.
Whilst the windows task bar across the bottom is still visable everything is perfect.
I used it last night for the first time with the bar displayed.
All went well.
On top of this Traktor appears to have damaged my controller/sound card drivers with respect to Virtualdj8.
Simply reinstalling the driver fixed the sound which had disappeared.
VDJ 7 may be immune.
I wanted all to coexist.
At the moment I have un-installed Traktor.
Anyway its the maximizing of the program which is causing my problem.
I have reinstalled the graphics drivers, and Virtualdj 8.
I made the taskbar hidden and expanded the Virtualdj8 window to just below screen size. It works.
I know that a little bit of the desktop is showing, and it annoys me, whatever.
As well as installing itself, Traktor installed Microsoft Visual C++ 2013.
I’ve un-installed Traktor, and Microsoft visual 2013.
Traktor is interesting. In its function the phase meter is almost identical to overlapping waves.
When it was on offer it cost me £44!
I’m glad I looked at Traktor, but now I may have to reinstall Windows 7.
My laptop is optimized for karaoke disco, and I don’t use Windows system restore.
The karaoke words are still lagging.
It’s time to reinstall Windows 7.

I’m disappointed with Tractor. The control of the effects is good, music management is poor. Deck proportions are inferior, though you can use an extended browser. Play list management, and the automix function, which is called cruise control, and uses play lists is inferior. Both programs detect song key, Traktor uses its own system, which is a little different to Virtualdj. I never really got far with the remix decks, which look good.
Virtualdj wins hands down when looking at the needs of a mobile, or a normal dj. A “star dj” might be able to do something with the remix decks in Tracktor, but I think they would also be successful in Virtual 8 using a dedicated sample controller, in addition to the main controller, similar to the Traktor F1.
Traktor 2.7 reminded me of old fashioned bloated software.
I’ve not given up totally on Traktor, though I need a good spare computer dedicated to its needs.
It is greedy, and bloated.
I suspect Serato will be equally disappointing, I have tried it, but I need to study it further before drawing any conclusions.

I’ve reinstalled Windows 7, and it’s important updates but the karaoke graphics are still choppy, hell.
It was perfect before I installed Traktor.
Its still OK with a program window smaller than full screen.
I never deleted the partition into which I installed win 7.
This is not funny.
I’ll try an older version of Virtualdj 8 first.
Help..is it back Virtualdj 7?
I finally installed all the optional Windows 7 updates. The graphics threw a wobbler, the screen resolution got stuck at 640x whatever, I used control alt delete to exit full screen mad Virtualdj 8 ..and then it worked!!!!!!
Who do I blame, Traktor provoked the problem, but since an optional windows update fixed it, I guess it was Microsoft. These updates were to resolve issues.

On with my Traktor experiences. I now have a laptop on which to install Traktor. It is slightly below spec. for version 2.73 so I went looking for a compatible older version on the Native instruments website. I couldn’t find 2.64 or 2.68 anywhere, and requested help on the forum, nothing doing. Once more I then started rooting around their website, now I wanted to down grade from 2.72 to 2.68, all that was in my personal download section was the latest version, and a multitude of upgrades. In desperation I thought I’d try 2.64 upgrade. Wow..it downgraded the latest version. Hence if you want to downgrade Traktor pro 2 you get an old upgrade from their website, easy! It did seem a little like a state secret.
Updating my general comments, the Traktor remix decks, and the range of effects is superb, hence this might be the software for the controllerist, whilst Virtual DJ 7 or 8 is superior for general purpose work.

Traktor has yet again damaged the Win 7 system files producing an error when Virtualdj 7.41 or 7.42. I’m getting the error “The program can’t start because d3dx9_33.dll is missing”. I have used Virtualdj for years and have never had errors of this type. I believe that directx 11 has been damaged causing problems for Virtualdj. I tried restarting, and reinstalling Virtualdj to no avail. It is now my belief that directx 11 needs reinstalling, and that might clear the error. It is my wish to run both programs on the same laptop, but as pathetic as it may be, this seems not to be possible. I know Virtualdj 8 also is incompatible with Traktor.

After studying Traktor for around another week I found:
a) The remix decks were way superior to Virtualdj7, and better than the Virtualdj 8 sampler. However Virtualdj 8 offers 4 decks or more, plus a very good sampler, verses Traktors 2 decks and 2 remix decks. I’d call that a draw. I really do like the remix decks, that is what is feeding my persistence with Traktor.
b) Traktor effects are superior to those of all versions of Virtualdj.
c) My earlier Traktor criticism still stands.

Conclusion

After comparing Traktor Pro 2 to Virtualdj 8, I declare Virtualdj 8 the winner on the basis of equality plus being able to play video files.

Note:This conclusion is subject to change because of my liking for the Traktor remix decks

Leave a Reply

